clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Scott Frost To Be Part of ESPN's National Title Game Coverage

Georgia vs. Alabama for CFP Championship Monday Night

UCF head coach Scott Frost hoists the Peach Bowl championship trophy. Photo: Derek Warden)
UCF head coach Scott Frost hoists the Peach Bowl championship trophy. Photo: Derek Warden)

ESPN announced on Thursday that among the people who will be part of their network's coverage of the National Championship Game between Alabama and Georgia will be none other than former UCF head coach Scott Frost.

Frost, who is now Head Coach at Nebraska, will provide pregame analysis for ESPN in the run-up to the College Football Playoff National Championship on Jan. 8. He will also appear on College GameDay, which will start at 3 p.m., and Championship Drive, which starts at 6 p.m. Eastern.

It should be interesting to see how Frost discusses the upcoming game between Georgia and Alabama, as well as what Frost has to say about UCF's claim to be National Champions now that he is the Cornhuskers' head coach.

Frost hasn't always been a fan of the system, even going back to when he was a player at Nebraska when he campaigned for his Huskers to win the National Title in 1997 following their Orange Bowl win over Tennessee. So I would expect him to be very critical of the committee and the system:

Frost will not be part of the parade UCF is holding on Sunday at Walt Disney World.

Among the other guests to be part of ESPN's pregame coverage include Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn, who played Alabama, Georgia and UCF. Texas A&M head coach Jimbo Fisher and Southeastern Conference commissioner Greg Sankey will also join the pregame coverage.

Below are full details released by ESPN:

College GameDay Built by The Home Depot

  • Host: Rece Davis
  • Analysts: Desmond Howard, David Pollack, Tim Tebow, Jesse Palmer, Joey Galloway, Anthony McFarland
  • Reporters: Maria Taylor, Tom Rinaldi, Gene Wojciechowski
  • Guests: Former UCF head coach and new Nebraska head coach Scott Frost, Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn, Texas A&M head coach Jimbo Fisher, Southeastern Conference commissioner Greg Sankey.
  • Championship Drive: Davis, joined by Howard, Lee Corso, Pollack, Kirk Herbstreit, Tebow, Palmer, Mack Brown, Galloway, Frost, Malzahn and Fisher, with reporters Taylor, Rinaldi and Wojciechowski

Frost has been named the Home Depot Coach of the Year, the AP Coach of the Year and the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year after leading the Knights to first ever 13-0 season in program history winning the American Conference Championship and Peach Bowl.