clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Five Former Knights Have Now Signed with AAF's Orlando Franchise

AAF Orlando to begin Play in February 2019 at Spectrum Stadium

Spectrum Stadium
Spectrum Stadium. Photo: Derek Warden

Five former UCF players have signed contracts with the Alliance of American Football's Orlando franchise, which will begin play at Spectrum Stadium in February of 2019.

Offensive lineman Chris Martin, who finished his UCF career in 2013, is the latest:

Martin joins WR Rannell Hall, RB Storm Johnson, DL Tony Guerad and LB Chequan Burkett on the team, which will be coached by Steve Spurrier.

Here's Johnson announcing he'd be joining the AAF:

The AAF is the brainchild of Charlie Ebersol (NBC executive Dick Ebersol's son) and will be run by former NFL GM Bill Polian, as well as several recently-retired NFL players, including Troy Polamalu, Hines Ward, and Justin Tuck.

The Orlando franchise, which doesn't have a nickname yet, is one of eight inaugural franchises for the league. The AAF has also secured a TV deal with CBS and CBS Sports Network.

The first weekend of games is expected to be played the Sunday following Super Bowl on February 9th.